Refugee Sponsorship Training Program

Font resize

IRCC Update on the COVID-19 Omicron variant of concern

Update posted December 09, 2021

As a precautionary measure, until January 31, 2022, the Government of Canada is implementing enhanced border measures for all travellers who have been in Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa and Zimbabwe within the last 14 days before arriving in Canada.

Foreign nationals who have travelled or transited any of these countries within the previous 14 days will not be permitted entry into Canada. This will impact the movement of sponsored refugees from those countries and has also resulted in movement cancellations where routing transited those countries. To the best extent possible, IRCC will continue to work with partners to facilitate the resettlement of refugees where conditions allow and where appropriate measures are in place to support them upon arrival. Any changes that impact travel that has already been booked will be shared with the affected sponsor, as updates become available.

Link to News Release: